The Democratic Republic of Congo, commonly known as Congo – Kinshasa or D.R. Congo. The name Kinshasa is usually added parenthetically, to differentiate it from its neighbor, Congo Republic, which is officially called the Republic of the Congo and is also distinguished by its city name Congo (Brazzaville). D.R. Congo is a huge country located in Central Africa, with a total surface area of about 2.35 million making it the 11th largest country in the world, 2nd in Africa after Algeria and the biggest in Sub-Saharan Africa.

The Democratic Republic of Congo is home to some of the most diverse wildlife in the world and is home to both types of eastern gorillas – mountain gorillas in Virunga national park (Africa’s oldest national park) and the Grauer’s gorillas in Kahuzi-Biega National Park in further south west. D.R. Congo boarders Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi to the east; to the southwest by Angola and to the southeast by Zambia.